Write Me Up

Official writing with some random thoughts

The First Thing You Should Know… February 23, 2011

Filed under: General Blog-tastic Writings — Dorothy Lynn @ 2:00 am

…is that it takes me forever to come up with a good title. I can write a story or a poem in ten minutes, and it will take me half an hour to come up with the title. So don’t expect witty titles to my posts every time.

Now that that’s out of the way…

I decided to start an official blog for my writing. I’ll post links to sites where I’ve been published, and share some material that has already been published in places that aren’t online (such as my university’s literary magazine). This is a very new thing for me, and since I tend to be a very blunt and straightforward person, it might be difficult to be business-like and official all the time. Therefore, I don’t think I’m going to try.

My writing tends to be very sporadic. It’s not that I’m unorganized, or don’t meet deadlines, it’s more that I like to try everything. Because of this, I tend to jump between genres, and when I get burnt out with one thing I try another. Sometimes I am funny, and sometimes I am very serious. But most of the time, I just write what I think or feel. I do know that I love to study people, so fiction is a love of mine because I can create characters that come alive. But I also love travelling, so travel writing is starting to become a bigger part of my writing life. And poetry–well, I adore it, but I am still not sure how good I am at it. When I write poetry it is mostly for myself, or the people I love.

Like my writing, my interests are all over the place, so this site will most likely have lots of randomness. For example, right now I am reading a book on astronomy, the second Harry Potter book, a collection of Gaelic Fairy tales by Yeats, an anthology of poetry, and the Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. So be prepared to learn a little bit of everything, from music to math to theology. All of it will likely pop up at some point.

That’s about it for my first official post. Next up will be some of my published works!

 

Did You Know????

“Buffalo buffalo buffalo Buffalo buffalo buffalo Buffalo buffalo.” is a grammatically correct sentence. No, really! Look!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buffalo_buffalo_Buffalo_buffalo_buffalo_buffalo_Buffalo_buffalo

 

Leave a Reply

