Write Me Up

Official writing with some random thoughts

Much needed update June 10, 2011

Filed under: General Blog-tastic Writings — Dorothy Lynn @ 5:09 pm

I am a horrific slacker. At least I am when it comes to keeping my blog updated. I have two and a half websites that I check every day: Facebook, Yahoo, and my school email. I used to write on livejournal, but that is completely out of my mind now, and I tried to keep up with this, but apparently, I can’t even do that. However, I have not exactly been slacking in my writing. I finally started my book, the important one that I really think has something to it. Not that the other stories I’ve started aren’t good, they just don’t have as much promise as this one. My biggest problem is just sticking with it. If I had more people after me to keep writing, then maybe I would have more discipline, but being graduated now, i don’t have any professors breathing down my neck with deadlines. This could be a problem, because I am an ultimate procrastinator. Deadlines produce good work for me.

At the same time as trying to maintain a decent writing life, I am also support raising for my internship next year with Campus Crusade for Christ. I am really excited for this, but again, I am really bad at setting goals for myself. There has been a lot happening with my family too that is preventing me from concentrating fully on this. But I really know that this is what God wants for me next year, so I am stubbornly pushing forward with it. It is really exciting for me to see how God is changing my attitudes through this experience, and how much I have to completely trust in Him for absolutely everything. It is also really exciting because it makes me want to tell everyone else how amazing it is to rely on God.

Speaking of which, my roommate from last year is doing this awesome study abroad trip in Ghana, because she really has a heart for helping people. She started a blog about it too! I am so excited for her. If anyone wants to read her blog, here it is! http://ghanabound.wordpress.com/
I always get excited when people decide to go out of their comfort zone and go to another culture, even if that culture is only down the street from where they live, or in my friend’s case, in Ghana. I am so convinced that travel is one of the best ways to change your outlook on life.

 

Leave a Reply

