Write Me Up

Official writing with some random thoughts

Progress! August 23, 2012

Filed under: General Blog-tastic Writings — Dorothy Lynn @ 5:18 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The new house is progressing nicely! The kitchen is almost done, and we finally have a stove, so we don’t have to rely on the toaster oven or the George Foreman any longer! I have officially become the cook of the residence, though Lindsey said she would take some responsibility, so she’s cooking tomorrow. So far we have had chicken every night…but seeing as I don’t have a job yet, and she is a teacher, I’m not thinking we’ll be having steaks very often. Also, I don’t really like steak.
It is strange, it’s like we are back in college, but entirely different at the same time. For one, the state isn’t paying part of my housing. Darn, I can’t use my smartness to get free money anymore. But also, it is just fun to have my own space again. As soon as I got back from Spain, I realized that I really like living in my own place. Of course, I don’t get free food anymore, but so far I still like it more. The only hard thing is that all my family and a lot of close friends are still in Toledo. Today was my sister’s birthday, and this Saturday is my adopted brother’s birthday party and I cannot be there to celebrate. You’d think I would be used to it since I did live in another country for a year, but even though I love to travel, I hate to miss important events in my family’s lives. I guess this is just another part of growing up. Sometimes, though, I wish I could be satisfied with being a homebody, instead of being so restless. Maybe I’ll figure out all of this someday…

 

Leave a Reply

