Write Me Up

Official writing with some random thoughts

Artistic whinging…my apologies September 4, 2012

There are all kinds of funny little things that happen day by day that I could write about, but I don’t necessarily want to write about them, or should write about them. I started this blog to be a place to update people about my writing, and my life in general, but mostly for my writing. Yet, it seems hard to share what I am actually writing, and when I do, no one seems to really care that much about it. Perhaps one has to be famous (or at least published) before anyone wants to hear about one’s writing life.

But for me, the writing process is so much more important than what happens after the project is done. I mean, once something is published, it is out there for the world, and sure, people can comment on it and be affected by it (which is kind of the goal), but at the same time, it isn’t occupying the internal space of the writer anymore. It’s out there in the real world. Right now, my book is all inside of me, and although I am slowly but steadily organizing it into words, I’m not quite sure how to share that process with people. 

I try to explain that when people ask what I’m doing, but it never comes out right.

“So, are you working here?”

“Well, I’m looking for a job.

“You should go to the career center. With all your talents, you could definitely get a good job.

“Thanks, but I don’t really want a career. I’m writing for my career. I just want a job.”

…..awkward silence….

How do you explain to people that you want a job, but not a career? I have a career. It is sitting at my desk and stewing over the imaginary lives of people in an imaginary future world, so that one day, I can have their entire story put into a book that everyone can read. Duh. I just want something to pay bills while I am working on this career.

And that is when I feel more than a little mentally unstable. Kind of like the characters in the book that I’m writing. 

It’s not that I want to be irresponsible and poor. I just don’t want to be so occupied with my job that I can’t fulfill the goals of my career.

 

6 Responses to “Artistic whinging…my apologies”

  1. Jodi Jarchow Says:

    You did a good job of explaining what you are doing! You probably could go to the career center and they could help you find a job that just pays the bills! Can’t hurt! Keep working on that career. You will get there! Love you

  2. Bumba Says:

    I’ve succeeded in keeping my writing career separate from my work career. You can pursue two things at the same time. I don’t think I could have made a reliable income by writing. And I still haven’t made a penny at it!
    Very few people can support themselves by their writing.

    • Dorothy Lynn Says:

      I know of quite a few people who support themselves with their writing, but it is almost always supplemented with other things like teaching or editing. My goal isn’t so much to become a best-selling author(although that would be nice) but to be able to say that “I’m a writer.”, not “I’m a Spanish translator, but I also do some writing on the side.” Any kind of art is probably not going to be financially lucrative, but I’m okay with that. I just can’t keep a working career separate from writing. I’m always thinking about the stories I’m writing.

      • Bumba Says:

        That’s good. but, like you said, even those who support themselves by writing have a supplemental job. They can’t get by on their income from writing alone. So, we have to work for a living just like everybody else. And compromise – just like everybody else. And everything else – just like everybody else. And then find some time to write. Not so bad (just like everybody else) All the best.

    • I think you misunderstood her point. This post is about the subtle differences between the words “job” and “career.” I had several jobs while in college: a tour guide, a student assistant (for multiple departments), and even the title of “Executive Treasurer.” Then after graduation I started looking for a teaching job. While looking, I had to take a job as a babysitter. Then right before school started that year, I was hired as a teacher. This was not my first job, but it is the first job of my career.

      And in response to your second comment…

      J.K. Rowling
      Madeline L’Engle
      Ursula K. Le Guin
      Dianna Wynne Jones
      Christopher Paolini

      I pretty sure this group gets by on their writing alone…

      • Bumba Says:

        Points well taken. I just wanted to say that a writing is generally not the most lucrative of professions and few are able to pursue it full-time. So we make adjustments, write as much and as regularly as we can. And keep on. Good luck.


Leave a Reply

