Write Me Up

Official writing with some random thoughts

Wednesday is for poets. October 3, 2012

So I know it is barely Wednesday, but I just had a wonderful idea that will help me to be more regular and less spastic about posting….a kind of dietary fiber for my blog habits, if you will….okay, that was kind of a gross metaphor….

ANYWAY, Wednesday shall now be for poetry on my blog. I LOVE poetry. I have a very wonderful creative writing professor to thank for that. Before I took her class, I occasionally enjoyed poetry, but now I read it voraciously and occasionally even write some. Mostly when I wrote poetry it is for condensing my thoughts and emotions into something that I can actually manage and digest (what is with the bodily function metaphors tonight???), but sometimes I also like to write it because it focuses my writing better and forces me to choose all the right words. (“Le mot juste” as Flaubert said…I think it was Flaubert…) Writing poetry made me realize how awesome revising can be.

Therefore, from now on, every Wednesday I will post a poem, either by myself, a friend, or a complete stranger whose words I thoroughly enjoyed. For my premiére semaine (That’s first week in French…wow, more French! Apparently I become more multilingual late at night.) I’ll post one of my own. This poem is a good picture of how my mind works…I am always asking a million questions about a million different subjects. I’d love any feedback or comments!

Curiosity

How does a hibiscus hold pollen? Is pumice light as air? What frills
an iris petal? Aren’t all plants geophytes? What are the uses
of yarrow? Why are ferns poison, but fiddleheads
food? How does one study a wave? Why do
thimbleberries taste velvety smooth? How
do the French say bougainvillea? What
makes a girasole burn red? Why is
obsidian like shadows? Is carbon
the sole base of life? Where
does love ferment? Why
are people blind? When
will I see you again?
Why do you burn
in my mind?

 

4 Responses to “Wednesday is for poets.”

  1. Adam Cirone Says:

    I enjoy the flow and feel of your words in this poem. Looking forward to reading a few more.

  2. poetjena Says:

    what a cool poem!


Leave a Reply

