Write Me Up

Official writing with some random thoughts

Wednesday is for poets. And also for musicians November 7, 2012

Filed under: Wednesday is for poets — Dorothy Lynn @ 9:43 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

My favorite songs are ones that have awesome poetical lyrics. Like this one by Editors called Bones. It’s awesome. As is pretty much all of their other work too.

Here’s a video:

And here are the lyrics:

“Bones”

How can you always be late for your arrival?
You know I’d forgive you every single time

Retreat, retreat
I’ve fallen at the low tide
Oh retreat, retreat
And meet me by the quayside

In the end all you can hope for
Is the love you felt to equal the pain you’ve gone through

Are your eyes showing off for mine
Your face in my hands is everything that I need

The system’s put in place, put there to protect us
For you I’d throw a lifeline every time

Oh Retreat, retreat
I’ve fallen at the low tide
Now retreat, retreat
And meet me by the quayside

In the end all you can hope for
Is the love you felt to equal the pain you’ve gone through

Are your eyes showing off for mine
Your face in my hands is everything that I need

Bones, starved of flesh
Surround your aching heart
Full of love

Oh bones, starved of flesh
Surround your aching heart
Full of love

Bones, starved of flesh
Surround your aching heart

Bones

Oh bones

I watch as your eyes show off for mine
I watch as your eyes show off
I watch as your eyes show off for mine
I watch as your eyes show off

*So…the lead singer’s voice does not really look like him. I never pictured that voice coming out of him…strange.

 

Leave a Reply

