Write Me Up

Official writing with some random thoughts

Words, words, words December 12, 2012

Filed under: Wednesday is for poets — Dorothy Lynn @ 10:07 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Props if you know what my title is from. I’ll give you a hint: It’s a quote by one of the greatest poets of all time.

So. It is Wednesday once again. This week, I will actually post a poem, instead of a silly limerick, or a video of a ninja cat. Though, I do consider those valid alternatives to poetry. My mom posted on my facebook wall at nine o clock tonight complaining that I hadn’t posted anything yet. It’s kind of nice to know that people regularly read my blog (even if it is only my mom…)

There are a lot of poets that I really like. One of them is Robert Frost. Most everybody recognizes his poetry, like “Two roads diverged in a yellow wood” or “Nature’s first green is gold”, but most of his poetry is not that inspirational, but actually quite melancholy. I started reading more of his pieces when I got the kindle version of all his works. It’s quite lovely to read a poem a day. He has this way of expressing such strong emotion in word pictures using nature. Since I love being out in nature, I can really relate to his imagery. Here is a beautiful poem called “Reluctance”

Reluctance

Out through the fields and the woods
And over the walls I have wended;
I have climbed the hills of view
And looked at the world, and descended;
I have come by the highway home,
And lo, it is ended.

The leaves are all dead on the ground,
Save those that the oak is keeping
to ravel them one by one
And let them go scraping and creeping
Out over the crusted snow,
When others are sleeping.

And the dead leaves lie huddled and still,
No longer blown hither and thither;
The last lone aster is gone;
The flowers of the witch-hazel wither;
The heart is still aching to seek,
But the feet question ‘Whither?’

Ah, when to the heart of man
Was it ever less than a treason
To go with the drift of things,
To yield with a grace to reason,
And bow and accept and accept the end
Of a love or a season?

I really love that last stanza. It is so powerful, how he builds up this picture of crusty snow and scraping leaves, then asks these really hard, deep questions at the end.

 

3 Responses to “Words, words, words”

  1. Sean J Says:

    Easy. Shakespeare. Hamlet. Done.

  2. Jodi Jarchow Says:

    Beautiful!


Leave a Reply

