Write Me Up

Official writing with some random thoughts

AWESOME. January 17, 2013

And I’m not even being sarcastic with that all caps title!

Here’s the interesting and wonderful story of my week.

On Monday, I went to work and lamented to myself a little about how it’s pretty blah and doesn’t pay much, and I need to look for a new one soon.

On Tuesday, my cousin went back to Toledo, and I slept until noon. At noon, while I was still being a bum in bed because I didn’t work until three that day, my friend Colleen called me. I didn’t pick up because I was slightly embarrassed that I was still in bed at noon, and I didn’t want to answer with my groggy sleep voice. So I checked the message later, and it turns out she wanted to know if I was interested in an ESL (English as a Second Language) tutoring job at the high school. She called again that night, but I was at work, so I missed it again. I thought to myself, hey, this could be a good opportunity, i definitely need to call her back.

On Wednesday, I called her back in the morning, expressing my interest, then went to work Again, blah, low pay, but hey, maybe I’ll have a new job soon! Colleen called me back that afternoon and talked to me for about twenty minutes explaining what the job was, and that they really really REALLY needed someone, and would I mind if she gave the principle my number to contact me. I said “of course”, of course! My hopes went up even more!

On Thursday, oh wait, I mean today, I was sleeping. I had my alarm set for 8:30 because I thought to myself, “hey, self, don’t be a bum today. get up early, even though you don’t have to work until three.” Well, at 8:16 am, my phone starts ringing. I was right in the middle of a dream….i think it was about traveling, or food….but it was very vivid, and then I heard my phone. I saw it was the principal calling me. Crap, man, i can’t answer the phone with sleepy groggy voice! Embarrassing! Again!!! So I got up really quick, ran to the bathroom, drank some water, and called her back. It turns out that she wanted to see me today. So I hurriedly got dressed, turned on my computer (which took about 30 minutes to turn on all the way….ugh.) so I could print off my resume, which was still unfinished from this summer, got dressed, and went to the high school at 10:30. Yes, a mere two hours after the call.

And by 11:00 I was hired.

The end.

 

Haha, not really. The moral of this story is you never know how God is going to provide for you. Here I was sitting in my house, thankful for what I had, but starting to feel pretty miserable because I felt like I was going nowhere, and BAM! out of the blue, I get this job dropped in my lap. A job that pays almost triple what I make now, a job that uses my love of languages, a job that is still only part-time, which means I can still write!!!!!!! Basically, the perfect thing for me right now. Coincidence? I think not.  So hey, thanks God, for being awesome, even when I’m being whiny.

 

2 Responses to “AWESOME.”

  1. Sean Jarchow Says:

    I think you meant “principal.” I have been editing lately, as I am sure you are now aware.

    Also,

    CONGRATULATIONS!


Leave a Reply

