Write Me Up

Official writing with some random thoughts

In her memory. February 9, 2013

I didn’t post a picture last night, because I was contemplating whether or not to post at all.

A few summers ago, I went to Alaska and met some amazing people. Although I haven’t had the chance to go back and visit them again, I still stay in touch, and they are like family to me. On Wednesday night, my friend Sylvia, who we all called our mom while we were there, texted me and told me some terrible news. Mack, a wonderful, amazing, loving girl, had been killed. I didn’t even know what to think, or how to react. This girl was so young and sweet. When I was there in Alaska, she was always spending time with us, smiling and helping with anything, and just being a genuinely joyful presence. I can’t even begin to make sense of this. All I know is that such evil things should never, ever happen, but they do, and somehow, Mack got caught in the crossfire of someone’s bad decisions. I am so sorry for her family, her friends, for the whole community that has been thrown into this situation, trying to find out what happened and trying to stay together, but not knowing why this happened.

All of this has been running through my mind the past couple of days, and I just didn’t have the heart to post a light-hearted foto last night.

But early this morning, I got a text from Sylvia. It woke me up from a dream I was having, that I was in Alaska. I don’t remember the dream, but I do know that the picture she sent me was beautiful, and that when I woke up and saw it, it gave me some peace.

remember

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

More than anything, right now, I wish that i could be there to help my friends. But I know that even though I am thousands of miles from them, they are my brothers and sisters, my family, and that God hears my prayers for them. Even if I am not there, God is always there, and if my heart is broken at this tragedy, I know that His heart is breaking even more that his beautiful creation, this wonderful young woman, was the victim of the darkness in this world.   And I’m pretty sure that God can give more comfort than I can. So this picture, with all the lights held up to remember the light that Mack gave everyone when she was here, gives me hope.

 

 

3 Responses to “In her memory.”

  1. jodijarchow Says:

    Beautiful tribute to Mack Dorothy! Dad and I lit candles for her last night also. It made me feel like we were a part of her life through you. I have been praying for the family ever since you told me.

  2. Denise Weller Says:

    So sorry to hear this Dorothy. Will be praying for you and her family.


Leave a Reply

