Write Me Up

Official writing with some random thoughts

Today is Monday, but i’m posting a poem anyway! June 3, 2013

Filed under: General Blog-tastic Writings — Dorothy Lynn @ 11:18 pm

I found this random poem I wrote a while ago whilst thumbing through one of my journals that is supposed to be for character sketches. I guess the mood just struck me while I was supposed to be working on my book. I really don’t remember when I wrote this either…but it’s a good poem anyway! So here you go, a poem on Monday because by the time Wednesday gets here, I will probably be too busy packing to post a poem.

 

Supposedly, that monster is green,

but I think she is a chameleon.

She hides in plain sight,

and she waits until you are comfortable

before she springs at you suddenly

in a blinding flash of putrid rainbows.

Then she switches colors, the colors of all

the scenes you wish you could remember

the scenes you don’t want to remember,

the visual stimuli that make you feed her,

strengthen her.

She lives inside you, lurking in pleasant

pictures, perfectly blended in gorgeous 

pastels until she knows she will be

fed by the ulcers of unrequited affections.

 

Leave a Reply

