Write Me Up

Official writing with some random thoughts

No answers. March 9, 2015

Filed under: General Blog-tastic Writings — Dorothy Lynn @ 11:06 pm
Tags: , , , ,

So. Writing. Writing writing writing. Wriiiiiiiiiiiiiiiting.
I have to make some decisions.
I want to write so badly. I want to be that person who writes things that inspire people to see the world in a new and better way. I want to write but I work and eat and sleep and invest in kids’ lives and give piano lessons and cook and go hung and fishing and watch tv and so many other things and I’m so tired at the end of the day that I don’t even know how to get back into my projects.
But they are all still there, living in my head, begging to be told and shared. I think of that moment when I knew I wanted to share these stories, sitting in a plaza in Toledo, Spain, across from the centuries old cathedral, watching people and thinking about the dream I had the night before that was so vivid and colorful and full of promise. But now I live in a place that is just as beautiful and complex and interesting, but I am so occupied with working and my boss wants me to get my teaching license which means taking education classes and going in a completely different direction and investing time in something that, even if I am great at it, I really don’t want to be my lifetime career.
So, dilemma.
Also my life is falling apart a little right now, but that’s a different story.

I just have no answers and I don’t know anything anymore. All the philosophers would say that is a good start but philosophers were all silly. Smart, and right about things, but stuck in their heads. So, no answers means no answers and no answers.

Any suggestions? Or words of wisdom?

My friends made me a blanket fort to help a little…and let’s be honest, blanket forts are always awesome.

 

2 Responses to “No answers.”

  1. Cass W. Says:

    I know what you mean. I want to write, badly, and yet I just… haven’t the time.
    My solution, honestly, is a combination of slow progress and making time.
    For example, instead of actually watching TV, I wait till the season’s over and buy the DVDs so I can watch them when I want to, not when the network wants me to. That’s just one example of granting myself the ability to re-arrange time and MAKE a good thirty minutes or so to write in.
    Also, I use Google Docs to write in and have an Android tablet, and I don’t mind sitting in a waiting room or on public transportation with my tablet and slowly pecking out a paragraph or two at a time while I can.
    None of that may be of any use to you, but if it helps, I know EXACTLY what you mean.

    • Dorothy Lynn Says:

      Those are good ideas! The thing is that I probably do have the time to write little by little but the amount of progress is so small that I feel like it is going nowhere. It’s discouraging but I don’t want to just give up writing altogether. Thanks for your thoughts.


Leave a Reply

