Write Me Up

Official writing with some random thoughts

Dancing May 22, 2015

Filed under: General Blog-tastic Writings — Dorothy Lynn @ 11:16 pm
Tags:

I miss dancing. 

I remember when I was little, going to weddings and dancing as long as I could until I was tired and sweaty and out of breath. There was nothing better than that. But now, no one dances. We shift back and forth to a repetitious rhythm, a song with a stupid lyrics but a catchy beat and we call that dancing. 

What happened to jumping up and down and spinning in circles? It makes me wish that I grew up in a culture where dancing is expected, like Hispanic cultures. There is nothing quite like going to a salsa club and spinning in circles and moving your hips until you’re so dizzy you can’t even sit down. It’s like being that kid again, spinning in your fancy dress at a wedding reception and not caring what anyone else thinks. 

That’s the dancing we need now. 

 

Leave a Reply

